Posted by: mchleen | September 2, 2009

A perfect beer cocktail for me!

micheladaA beer cocktail?!?  Yes you heard right.  It’s a traditional Mexican drink and it’s named Michelada.  I’m not sure if it’s a Michelada or the Michelada, but a name like that just begs to be associated with me – Michaeleen.  It’s “Micha-” up front and “-lada” (as in a cool refreshing summer drink) in its finish.  It’s also got lime and hot sauce in it – two things I think are indispensable in this life.

I’ll just say up front that if you’re expecting a beer, this isn’t it.  And if you’re not the experimental type you probably shouldn’t bother.  This is a cocktail unlike any other I’ve encountered.  I first had one of these at the restaurant Rosa Mexicano with an order of fried queso and roasted poblano peppers; it was a palate match made in Mexican heaven!

Here’s the recipe.  Try one before the summer is over.

MICHELADA


1 lime wedge
rim seasoning (chile powder, salt, lime seasoning)
2 Tbsp fresh lime juice
1 dash hot sauce
1 dash Worcestershire sauce
1 12-oz. Mexican lager (Dos Equis, Tecate, Corona, etc…)

  1. Run lime wedge around the rim of the glass to moisten it.
  2. Pour rim seasoning onto a small plate, then dip the rim of the glass in the seasoning.
  3. Fill glass with ice, then add lime juice*, hot sauce and Worcestershire sauce.
  4. Add beer, sprinkle with a pinch more seasoning and imbibe!

* I also like to toss in the lime wedge for extra color and flavor.

[Confidential to CarinBon Appetit says that you can get a great one at El Chile Cafe y Cantina in Austin!]

Responses

  1. My sister introduced me to these over the summer. I’ll have to try it with the chile powder!

  2. This is my favorite was to drink beer! I skip the spicy stuff, but I do load up on the lime!


Leave a Reply

Categories

