Posted by: mchleen | May 19, 2009

Not-so-Charmin…

not CharminIs it just me or are these Charmin cartoon bear commercials just offensive? Seriously, I feel dirty after I see one.

I mean – I understand that in order to market a product you need to tout the qualities that the consumer seeks, but these Charmin commercials just gall me! Maybe it’s that I have to actually watch bears pooping together (possibly in the desperate throes of a bout of Montezuma’s Revenge?), or that they try to make toilet paper lint dingleberries a saleable issue, or that they try to make me equate panicky fecal issues with cute cartoony entertainment, or maybe it’s just that I’m a prude but c’mon! GAG ME WITH A SPOON!

I can’t speak for you, but as for me I don’t want to know anything about your bowel movements or your consequential preferences in toilet paper. I like you as you are – please don’t make me imagine you on the pot. It’s just off-putting.

And if you’re one of those who thinks poops and farts are cute – I do not poop nor fart. Do not picture me associated with either of those actions. I’m a lady and rainbows pour forth from my mouth, flowers sprout from my head, and I smell of cupcakes.

Leave a Reply

Categories

