Posted by: mchleen | March 13, 2009

The Georgetown Cupcake Smackdown! Baked & Wired Results…

Baked and Wired cupcakesOK – so I’m realizing right now how surprisingly appropriate the term “smackdown” was for this venture. Seriously – I feel like Uma Thurman in Pulp Fiction immediately after John Travolta crushed an adrenaline shot into her heart. “Smack” being the operative fragment… I swear that my teeth are quivering, my heart is going to explode. Between my own sugary cupcake and the nibbles I took of everyone else’s (all for you my dear readers!) plus the iced latte, that must have been laced with octane and cocaine, I’m freakin’ out man!

Maybe this chardonnay will take me down a notch? Nothing like messing with uppers and downers…

So here are the cupcake flavors that were tested: German Chocolate, Vanilla, Carrot Cake, Strawberry, Coconut, Chocolate Peanut Butter. I’m absolutely surprised that the best ones turned out (in my opinion, MA’s may post their own opinions please!) to be the simplest. My vote went to the “old skool” Vanilla with vanilla frosting and the Strawberry with strawberry frosting (which I thought was particularly charming in that it wasn’t just pink cake, but there were strawberries in the batter). The Carrot Cake was just like its cake namesake – just miniatured, Coconut was decadent and rich, German Chocolate was good in the chocolate department but the frosting was meehhh… and the Chocolate Peanut Butter was good but the frosting wasn’t peanut buttery enough.

Which brings me to the frostings. All the MA’s agreed that the frostings were a smidge too sugary and generous (my throbbing heart and head agree) and almost overpowered the cake. Two year old Lulu would have disagreed, but she was too preoccupied scooping “Sugar in the Raw” out of its packet with a coffee stir stick to deign to sample a cupcake.

So I award the Strawberry with strawberry frosting and the Vanilla with vanilla frosting the crowns at Baked & Wired. Next week, we’ll test Georgetown Cupcake. Then the final judgement between them will be handed down. ALL OF THE CUPCAKES WERE DIVINE, but if I you held a gun to my head and I had to choose – and you don’t have to, I’m always happy to add my two cents – these two won.

And FYI: 3 cupcakes + 1 small iced latte = $14.

Responses

  1. Ohhhhh, it was so FUN! Though I wasn’t in the mood for dinner last night, what with an enormous wad of coconut flakes and gooey frosting making its way through my system (um, I ate dinner despite that). I’m slowly hacking away at the “chocolate cupcake of doom” that I bought, intended for last night’s midnight snack (I was comatose long before then), and I can report that it’s just as tasty and soul-satisfying as all the others!

  2. So I have been debating on which cupcake recipe to send you. I make them for a box but don’t follow the directions. Here is one of my favorites.

    Harvey Wallbanger Cupcakes
    1 box orange cake mix
    1 pack of vanilla pudding
    1/2 cup of orange juicel
    1/2 cup of veggie oil
    1/3 cup of Galliano
    4 lg eggs
    2 tablespoons of vodka
    1 teaspoon of grated fresh orange zest

    preheat over to 350 degrees. Put cupcake liners in a muffin pan. Mix everything in a large bowl with an electric hand mixer, start on low for about 30 seconds then on high for 2 minutes. Fill each liner about a three quarters of the way full.

    Bake for about 15 to 20 minutes, till they spring back to your touch. Remove from pan and let cool on wire rack.

    Buttercream icing
    1 stick of butter (real butter) at room temp
    1 teaspoon of grated orange zest
    3cups of powdered sugar (sifted)
    2 tablespoons of fresh oj
    1 tablespoon of Galliano
    Mix butter and orange zest till fluffy. add half the powdered sugar, the oj and the Galliano. Mix on low for a minute. Add rest of the powdered sugar, beat till fluffy. Top each cupcake with the frosting. I like to put the icing in a ziplock bag, cut off the tip and pipe on. Top with orange zest of candied orange slices.

    Enjoy!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

