Posted by: mchleen | March 6, 2009

Eat your vegetables!

I love vegetables!My daughter is not a picky eater. In fact she can usually be found poaching food from her playmates. But if you know toddlers, you know that they cycle through likes and dislikes unpredictably and quickly often without explaination. Hellooooo frustration!

I’ve worked in restaurant kitchens, I’ve waitressed and bartended, and catered to all whims in my own home. But lately my daughter has been making me a bit nuts with her demands. I’m trying to be a good mom and have her eat a healthy diet (I’ve recently been made more neurotic by an episode of Animal Precinct where I saw a puppy with rickets from malnutrition). Her demands usually center around pancakes, cookies and cheese. Can you blame her? That sounds ideal to me – if you toss in some avacado (I LOVE AVOCADO).

Anywho, last night I pulled a Jessica Seinfeld. I steamed her veggies (green beans, corn, carrots, lima beans) then pureed them hot in the blender with a tiny touch of butter, a sprinkle of parmesan and a healthy dollop of cottage cheese. Instant veggies, low-sodiulm, healthy and packed with calcium – easily eaten with a spoon – and yummy!! Try it. Magic. And if you’re feeling adventurous, dice up some chicken and mix it in. Gobble, Gobble!

Leave a Reply

Categories

